Leipzig & my last days in Berlin

On my weekend off from class, the school arranged a day tour of Leipzig, Germany, which was home to Johann Sebastian Bach. Leipzig is a beautiful city with a classic European charm (think lots of churches, cobblestone, and fountains). The tour guides only spoke German to us, which posed a problem for those of us in the A1 level language course. However, I managed not to get lost the whole day, and I met people from the higher level classes who taught me to play poker on the train. We also toured the Zeitgeschichtliches Forum Leipzig, which was an interesting museum about Soviet-occupied Germany.

IMG_3580

IMG_3599

Guess who?

Back in Berlin, I had a mishap that almost ended my life. On my way to school, I tried to cross the railroad tracks just as a tram rounded the corner and almost hit me. I noticed many people don’t pay attention to the pedestrian signs (including me), but this is quite dangerous in a city with multiple transportation lines. I’ve learned my lesson, though, and I’m glad I’m still here to tell the tale and warn others!

IMG_3609

Demonstration for an International Peace Law, featuring culturally diverse dance groups in front of the Brandenburg Gate

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 11.43.52 PM.png

Charlottenburg Palace 

IMG_3602

The small lake close to my apartment is a hot spot for German beachgoers

It was bittersweet to end German class and say goodbye to all the people I met. I especially was a bit sad to leave my host family, since they’ve been so amazing to me. Just an interesting aside I learned:  my host mom told me that Spike actually won a newspaper entry contest for Berlin’s cutest dog when he was about 3 years old.

Screen Shot 2016-05-29 at 11.28.09 PM

Berlin’s No.1 cutest dog

BTW, I am no A1.1 German level certified! That means I can say my numbers and order some food in German. Hopefully that will be enough to survive for the next 3 months.

One thought on “Leipzig & my last days in Berlin

Leave a Reply

